Meditation journal (9/30 – 10/3)

9/30 – Oracle meditation (S)

This morning, in addition to asking the Three Kindreds advice from the runes, I also asked Odin, since he is the master of the runes. My question was: “What advice do you have for me for this week?” I pulled Jera, which means harvest, hard work. It’s a positive rune. What I interpreted from the drawing is that I need to put in some hard work for this good harvest to come to fruition. I visualized myself in a field of golden wheat, with a scythe in my hand. I began to reap the crops, sweat pouring down my face, but it was satisfying for my bounty was good. The rune itself was carved into a stone nearby, a symbol to compel me to keep working and the fruits of my labor will be mine.

10/2 – Prayer (N)

When giving my offering to Nerthus and the land wights in the thicket I said a prayer to both of them. The results are in my week 31 DP journal post:

“I made my offering to Nerthus and the land wights in the thicket and said a spontaneous prayer to both, praising them and calling them to accept my offerings. As I was making my prayer to Nerthus, a bird cried loudly in the trees above me. When making my prayer to the land wights, it sounded like a whole flock took to the air above me. I was somewhat distracted by some people traveling in the woods nearby, so I stumbled a bit in my prayers, but I’m happy with the response. It may have been because the people were walking nearby, but deep down I felt that this wasn’t entirely the case. While I like spontaneous prayer ,I would like to try a written prayer so that I can say my words without having to search for them so much.”

10/3 – Devotional (S)

Another powerful devotional. This time I believe I received a message from the sweet gum tree. Today has been a difficult day and as the presence of the Kindreds surrounded me, I felt their support and power. Then the sweet gum tree dropped a green gumball into my hand. In an instant, the gumball dried up, turning brown and released its seed. The message I got was one of letting go, to release so that something new may grow in its place. I believe it was referring to getting rid of old patterns of thought and habits, so that I may grow in new ways. This was a message I needed and one I will take to heart!

Took a short week due to vacation over the weekend. While I’m a pretty big proponent of meditation whenever you can, even if you’re away from home, I think I deserve a much needed break! I have also approached the end of my 5 months of mental training that is required for the DP documentation. This coming week my essay is due and overall I’m pretty happy with this experience. I think I’ve built a firm foundation for a lasting mental training regimen that will continue beyond my DP requirement.

I will be writing an essay using my journal as a reference discussing my thoughts and experiences during these 5 months. As this is my final official journal entry I would include some closing thoughts, however much of that will be summed up better in my essay. While I will continue meditation after fulfilling the requirement, I will not be using my journal on a regular basis. I will only use it if something important occurs during one of my sessions that warrants documentation. While I enjoyed the process of writing in my journal to track my progress, I ultimately found the process a bit tedious at times. That being said, I recognize the need for such a journal so that I could get the most out of this training, which I feel like I did.

Leave a comment